The Ministry of Small Business Development was established in 2014 marking a turning point in history of SMME’s and Co-operatives development in South Africa, demonstrating Government’s commitment to place SMME’s and Co-operatives at the centre of economic growth and job creation.

The Department of Small Business Development (DSBD) was thereafter established as a standalone national department in accordance with the reorganisation of some national departments announced by the President in May 2014, following the national elections.

Departmental goals

Goal 1
Policy and planning coherence in the sector, that promotes an enabling ecosystem for SMMEs and Co-operatives.

Goal 2
Equitable access to responsive and targeted products and services that enable the growth and development of SMMEs and co-operatives.

Goal 3
An enhanced contribution to socio-economic development outcomes by the sector.

Goal 4
Sound governance and the optimal utilisation of available resources.

Goal 5
A professional and capacitated SBD.