The Department has set itself a target to establish 250 incubation and digital hubs by 2024. To date, 101 incubators have been established on the set target of 96 which include 22 Centres for Entrepreneurship and Rapid Incubation (CFERIs) in TVET colleges and Universities including an additional four (4) centres at the University of Johannesburg (Soweto Campus), Rhodes University (Makhanda Campus), Nelson Mandela University (Gqeberha Campus) and University of Venda (Thohoyandou Campus). Some of the CFERIs at TVET Colleges include those at Northern Cape Rural TVET (De-Aar and KHATHU Campuses), Maluti TVET College Phuthaditjhaba Campus, West Coast TVET College (Vredendal Campus) and the new ESAYIDI TVET College (Umzimkhulu Campus). A full list of the CFERIS is available on the DSBD and SEDA websites.

SEDA will also facilitate the establishment of an additional 27 new incubators, mainly in townships and rural areas. The new incubators will assist with the establishment of approximately 1 290 new enterprises that are expected to create at least 25 000 new jobs. Some of the areas the additional incubators are planned for underserviced Provinces and Districts aligned to the Departments' SMME Support plan that include the districts of Sarah Baartman, Joe Gqabi, Fezile Dabi, Xhariep, Sedibeng, West Rand, Amajuba, iLembe, Umgungundlovu, Mopani, Waterburg, Nkangala, Namakwa, Pixley ka Seme, Dr K Kuanda, The Central Karoo and Overburg.

The already existing 79 incubators have assisted SMMEs to sustain 86, 000 jobs with SMME ecosystem partners. Some of these existing incubators include those located in Amatole District Municipality; Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality, King Cetshwayo District Municipality, eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality, OR Tambo, Harry Gwala, Ehlanzeni District Municipality.

The existing incubator footprint covers most Districts in South Africa and is the biggest in Africa. Having said that, more work will be done in partnership with the Private Sector. The full list of the location of the Incubators is available on the DSBD and SEDA websites. Furthermore, four Digital Hubs were established, and the remaining 2 hubs will be completed in the 2 and 3rd quarters of the 2021/22 financial year. The completed 4 Hubs are located in Mpumalanga (Mbombela and Gert Sibande), Mafikeng and Botshabelo in the Free State.

Download a list of some of the incubators below:

> Seda National Incubation Network