About us

The Ministry of Small Business Development was established in 2014 marking a turning point in history of SMMEs and Co-operatives development in South Africa, demonstrating Government’s commitment to place SMMEs and Co-operatives at the centre of economic growth and job creation.

The Department of Small Business Development (DSBD) was thereafter established as a standalone national department in accordance with the reorganisation of some national departments announced by the President in May 2014.